Thank you in advance for your patience and understanding.


Timeframe For Renewals

Class A, B, C, D, E, G, H, I, and W permits are renewed annually pursuant to ORC 4303.27. Class C and D permits only are renewed on a trimester schedule by county.

Permits located in:  Ashland, Athens, Belmont, Carroll, Columbiana, Coshocton, Crawford, Delaware, Erie, Fairfield, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Holmes, Huron, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Lawrence, Licking, Madison, Mahoning, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingham, Noble, Perry, Pickway, Pike, Richland, Ross, Scioto, Seneca, Stark, Tuscarawas, Union, Vinton, Washington, Wayne, and Wyandot counties expire February 1st.

Permits located in:  Adams, Allen, Auglaize, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Defiance, Fayette, Fulton, Green, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Logan, Lucas, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Ottawa, Paulding, Preble, Putnam, Sandusky, Shelby, VanWert, Warren, Williams, and Wood counties expire June 1st.

Permits located in:  Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Summit, and Trumbull counties expire October 1st.

Renewal fees vary based upon class of permit.

Application Process

Renewal applications are mailed to permit holders 60 days prior to the expiration. Applications must be filled out in their entirety and signed by the permit holder if sole proprietor; partner if partnership; corporate officer, 5% or more stockholder if corporation; managing member, individual with 5% or greater membership or voting interest if Limited Liability Company; OR club officer if a D4. Renewal applications received after 15 days prior to the expiration must submit a 10% penalty fee pursuant to ORC 4303.271.

Renewal Objections And Notifications

Objections to the renewal of a class C and D permit must be filed 30 days prior to the expiration of the permit by only the legislative authority of the Municipal Corporation, Board of Township Trustees or the Board of County Commissioners pursuant to ORC 4303.271. In the event an objection is filed, the division shall conduct a hearing to determine whether the renewal shall be denied.

The Department of Taxation annually will review the sales and withholding tax records of all permit holders to determine if the permit holder is delinquent in the payment of their taxes. The division will not renew any permit where there exists tax delinquencies after notification by the tax commissioner pursuant to ORC 4303.271. Permit holders are notified by the Department of Taxation of tax delinquencies three months prior to the expiration of their permit.


Division of Liquor Control
6606 Tussing Road
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068

Phone 614.644.2360

Contact the Webmaster for Questions
or Comments on the Website:


Our YouTube Channel Follow Us On Twitter LinkedIn Facebook


Director Sheryl Maxfield